Skip to main content

Board of Directors

Five independent directors and two non-independent directors bring diverse backgrounds and experience to the board. For more information on the board members, view their biographies.

Rich Kruger

Mr. Kruger was appointed chairman, president and chief executive officer of Imperial Oil Limited, effective March 1, 2013.

In 1981, Mr. Kruger started his career with Exxon in Houston, Texas, and held various technical, supervisory, and management positions throughout the United States. In 1996, he became technical manager for Exxon's engineering activities in the former Soviet Union and in 1999 was appointed vice president, Africa Deepwater, ExxonMobil Development Company. In 2001, he was appointed director and chairman of ExxonMobil's subsidiaries in Malaysia, and in 2003 was appointed vice president, Asia Pacific/Middle East, for ExxonMobil Production Company.

Mr. Kruger was appointed vice president, United States, of ExxonMobil Production Company in 2005 and in 2006 was named executive vice president of ExxonMobil Production Company. He was appointed president of ExxonMobil Production Company and elected a vice president of Exxon Mobil Corporation in 2008.

A native of Minneapolis, Minnesota, Mr. Kruger holds a mechanical engineering degree from the University of Minnesota and a master's degree in business administration from the University of Houston.

Krystyna Hoeg

Ms. Hoeg was the president and chief executive officer of Corby Distilleries Limited from 1996 until her retirement in February 2007. She previously held several positions in the finance and controllers functions of Allied Domecq PLC and Hiram Walker & Sons Limited. Prior to that, she spent five years in public practice as a chartered accountant with the accounting firm of Touche Ross.

Ms. Hoeg is currently a director of Sun Life Financial Inc. and New Flyer Industries Inc., and is also a director of Samuel, Son & Co. Limited and Revera Inc., privately owned corporations. Ms. Hoeg is also the chair of the Toronto East General Hospital board.

Jack Mintz

Dr. Mintz is currently the President’s Fellow at the University of Calgary’s School of Public Policy focusing on tax, urban and financial market regulatory policy programs. From 2006 to 2015, Dr. Mintz was the Director and Palmer Chair in Public Policy for the University of Calgary and prior to that he was the president and chief executive officer of The C.D. Howe Institute since 1999. He has also been a professor at the Joseph L. Rotman School of Management at the University of Toronto since 1989. Dr. Mintz also sits as a director with Morneau Shepell Inc. and has published widely in the fields of public economics and fiscal federalism, been an advisor to governments throughout the world on fiscal matters, and has frequently published articles in national newspapers and magazines.

David Sutherland

In July 2007, Mr. Sutherland retired as president and chief executive officer of the former IPSCO, Inc. after spending 30 years with the company and more than five years as president and chief executive officer. Mr. Sutherland is the chairman of the board of United States Steel Corporation, lead director of GATX Corporation and chairman of Graham Group Ltd., an employee owned corporation. 

Mr. Sutherland is a former chairman of the American Iron and Steel Institute and served as a member of the board of directors of the Steel Manufacturers Association, the International Iron and Steel Institute, the Canadian Steel Producers Association and the National Association of Manufacturers.

D. G. (Jerry) Wascom

Mr. D. G. (Jerry) Wascom is President, ExxonMobil Refining & Supply Company. Mr. Wascom is located in Fairfax, VA and has responsibility for managing the global refining, supply, transportation and midstream business.

Mr. is President, ExxonMobil Refining & Supply Company. Mr. Wascom is located in Fairfax, VA and has responsibility for managing the global refining, supply, transportation and midstream business.

Mr. Wascom graduated with a Bachelor’s Degree in Mechanical Engineering from Louisiana State University in 1978. He joined Exxon Company, U.S.A. as an employee at the Baton Rouge Refinery in 1979 and progressed through various engineering and supervisory positions.

From 1987 to 1989, Mr. Wascom held staff positions in Exxon Company, U.S.A.’s headquarters in Houston. He transferred to the Baytown Refinery in 1990 as head of routine maintenance and turnarounds and subsequently was assigned as Technical Manager and then Process Manager at Baytown.

In 1996, he transferred to Exxon Corporate Headquarters in Dallas to serve as a Senior Environmental and Safety Advisor and then as Corporate Planning Consultant. After completing an assignment as Asia Pacific Refining Executive in Singapore, he returned to the United States as Beaumont Refinery Manager in 2000.

In 2004, he relocated to Fairfax, Virginia where he served as the Global Logistics and Optimization Manager in the Supply organization. A year later, he became Vice President of the Industrial and Wholesale organization in the Fuels Marketing business. In 2006, Mr. Wascom moved to Tokyo where he was appointed President and CEO of ExxonMobil Japanese companies and Refining Director of Asia Pacific with responsibility for managing refining operations in Asia Pacific. In April of 2009, he returned to Fairfax as Director, Refining Americas, ExxonMobil Refining & Supply, overseeing refining operations in North and Central/South America. In July 2013, he was appointed Director, Refining North America, ExxonMobil Refining & Supply, overseeing a total of 10 refineries in the USA and Canada. In August of 2014, he was appointed to his current position of President, Refining and Supply.

Sheelagh Whittaker

Ms. Whittaker spent much of her early business career as director and partner with The Canada Consulting Group, now Boston Consulting Group.

From 1989 she was president and chief executive officer of Canadian Satellite Communications (Cancom).

In 1993, Ms. Whittaker joined Electronic Data Systems of Plano, Texas, then one of the world’s foremost providers of information technology services.

Initially spending several years as president and chief executive officer of EDS Canada, Ms Whittaker then undertook other key leadership roles globally, ultimately serving the company as managing director, United Kingdom, Middle East and Africa, until her retirement from EDS in November 2005.

Victor Young

From November 1984 until May 2001, Mr. Young served as chairman and chief executive officer of Fishery Products International Limited, a frozen seafood products company.

Mr. Young is a director of McCain Foods Limited, a privately own corporation.

Mr. Young was appointed an Officer of the Order of Canada in 1996, and is currently the chair of the advisory committee on red tape reduction established by the Government of Canada.

Passer au contenu principal
Recherche

Le conseil

Six administrateurs indépendants et deux administrateurs non indépendants ayant des expériences et des antécédents diversifiés composent le Conseil. Pour en apprendre plus sur les membres du Conseil, lisez leurs biographies.

Rich Kruger

M. Kruger est actuellement président du Conseil, président et chef de la direction de la Compagnie Pétrolière Impériale Ltée, un rôle qu'il tient depuis le premier mars, 2013.

M. Kruger commence sa carrière à Exxon en 1981 à Houston, au Texas. Il occupe pour la société divers postes techniques, de supervision et de direction partout aux États-Unis. En 1996, il devient directeur technique des activités d'ingénierie pour Exxon dans l'ancienne Union soviétique, et en 1999, vice-président du projet Africa Deepwater pour la société ExxonMobil Development. En 2001, il est nommé administrateur et président du conseil de filiales d'ExxonMobil en Malaisie, puis vice-président de la région Asie Pacifique et Moyen-Orient pour la société ExxonMobil Production en 2003.

En 2005, M. Kruger devient vice-président de la région des États-Unis pour la société ExxonMobil Production puis, en 2006, vice-président principal pour cette même société. Il est choisi président de la société ExxonMobil Production, puis élu vice-président du conseil de la société ExxonMobil Corporation en 2008.

Originaire de Minneapolis, dans l'État du Minnesota aux États-Unis, M. Kruger est titulaire d'un diplôme en ingénierie mécanique de l'Université du Minnesota et d'une maîtrise en administration des affaires de l'Université de Houston.

David Cornhill

M. Cornhill, actuellement président du conseil et fondateur de la société AltaGas Ltd., fondée le 1er avril 1994, en a été le président du conseil d’administration et chef de la direction jusqu’au 15 avril 2016. Administrateur au conseil de Alterra Power Corp. et Painted Pony Energy Ltd., il a aussi siégé à divers conseils d’organismes à but non lucratif intéressés par l’éducation et la collectivité.

De 1987 à 1994, M. Cornhill a assumé diverses fonctions managériales au sein de la Alberta and Southern Gas Co. Ltd., dont à titre de président et chef de l’exploitation, vice-président aux finances et à l’administration, et trésorier. Auparavant, de 1980 à 1987, il a occupé divers rôles à Gulf Canada. Récipiendaire du prix Calgary Ivey Leadership Award en 2010 et du prix Ivey Distinguished Service Award en 2010, il a aussi reçu le prix de l’entrepreneur de l’année Ernst and Young en 2000. En février 2017, il a été reconnu en tant que président de conseil de l’année, par le magazine Alberta Oil, lors de la cérémonie de remise annuelle de leurs prix C-Suite Energy Executive Awards.

Krystyna Hoeg

Mme Hoeg a été présidente et chef de la direction de Corby Distilleries Limited de 1996 jusqu’à sa retraite en février 2007. Auparavant, elle a occupé plusieurs postes au sein des services des finances et du contrôle de Allied Domecq PLC et de Hiram Walker & Sons Limited. Antérieurement, elle avait passé cinq ans en pratique publique à titre de comptable agréée dans le cabinet comptable de Touche Ross.

Mme Hoeg siège actuellement aux conseils d’administration de la New Flyer Industries Inc. ainsi qu’à ceux de Samuel, Son & Co. Limited et de Revera Inc., des sociétés privées. Mme Hoeg siège au conseil d’administration du Toronto East General Hospital.

Jack Mintz

Le Dr Jack Mintz est actuellement le chargé de cours du président à la School of Public Policy de l'Université de Calgary, où il se spécialise dans les programmes de politiques de régulation des marchés fiscaux, urbains et financiers. De 2006 à 2015, M. Mintz a été directeur et titulaire de la chaire d'étude Palmer en politique publique de l'Université de Calgary, après avoir occupé le fauteuil de président et de chef de la direction de l'Institut C. D. Howe depuis 1999. Depuis 1989, il s'est également illustré comme professeur à la Joseph L. Rotman School of Management de l'Université de Toronto. Siégeant au Conseil d'administration de Morneau Shepell Inc., il a publié de nombreux ouvrages dans les domaines de l’économie publique et du fédéralisme budgétaire et a souvent publié des articles dans des revues et des journaux à diffusion nationale.

David Sutherland

M. Sutherland a quitté ses fonctions de président et chef de la direction de l’ancienne IPSCO Inc. en juillet 2007, après avoir passé 30 ans avec la société et plus de cinq ans en qualité de président et chef de la direction. M. Sutherland est président du Conseil de la United States Steel Corporation. M. Sutherland est président du Conseil et de Graham Group Ltd., société appartenant à ses employés, et administrateur de Steelcraft Inc., une société privée.

Il a été auparavant président de l’American Iron and Steel Institute et membre des conseils d’administration de la Steel Manufacturers Association, de l’International Iron and Steel Institute, de l’Association canadienne des producteurs d’acier et de la National Association of Manufacturers.

Sheelagh Whittaker

Mme Whittaker a exercé les fonctions de directrice et d’associée chez The Canada Consulting Group, devenu depuis Boston Consulting Group, au début de sa carrière professionnelle.

En 1989, elle est nommée présidente et chef de la direction de la société Les Communications par satellite canadien Inc.(Cancom).

En 1993, Mme Whittaker entre chez Electronic Data Systems de Plano, au Texas, l’un des principaux prestataires de services de technologies de l’information du monde. Après plusieurs années au cours desquelles elle a d’abord agi à titre de présidente et chef de la direction de EDS Canada, Mme Whittaker accepte d’autres fonctions de direction de premier plan sur la scène mondiale, la dernière ayant été celle de directrice générale – Royaume-Uni, Moyen-Orient et Afrique chez EDS avant sa retraite, en novembre 2005.

Mme Whittaker est aussi administratirce de Standard Life Canada.

D. G. (Jerry) Wascom

D. G. (Jerry) Wascom est le président d'ExxonMobil Refining & Supply Company. Vivant à Fairfax, en Virginie, il gère les activités mondiales de raffinage, d'approvisionnement et de transport, ainsi que le secteur médian.

Après avoir obtenu une licence en génie mécanique de la Louisiana State University en 1978, M. Wascom rejoint la compagnie Exxon aux États-Unis en 1979, en tant qu'employé de la raffinerie Bâton-Rouge. Il entame alors son ascension en occupant plusieurs postes de supervision et d'ingénierie.

Entre 1987 et 1989, M. Wascom remplit diverses fonctions de responsable du personnel au siège social d'Exxon à Houston, aux États-Unis. Il est muté en 1990 à la raffinerie de Baytown, où il devient chef des travaux d'entretien réguliers et des rotations, avant d'être nommé directeur technique, puis gestionnaire des processus à Baytown.

En 1996, il intègre le siège social d'Exxon à Dallas au titre de conseiller principal en environnement et en sécurité, puis évolue vers un poste de consultant en planification générale. Après s'être établi à Singapour pour diriger le secteur du raffinage dans la région Asie-Pacifique, il retourne aux États-Unis en 2000, où il devient directeur de la raffinerie de Beaumont.

L'année 2004 marque son retour à Fairfax, en Virginie. Il s'illustre alors comme directeur de la logistique et de l'optimisation mondiales dans la section Approvisionnement. Un an plus tard, il se voit offrir la place de vice-président de l'unité Ventes de gros et Ventes aux industries, au sein de la division Marketing des carburants. En 2006, M. Wascom s'installe à Tokyo, où il est nommé président et chef de la direction des entreprises japonaises d'ExxonMobil. Également directeur, Raffinage – Asie-Pacifique, il a pour mission d'assurer la gestion des opérations de raffinage dans cette région. En avril 2009, il repart pour Fairfax sous le titre de directeur, Raffinage – Amériques pour ExxonMobil Refining & Supply. Il y supervise les opérations de raffinage pour l'Amérique du Nord, l'Amérique latine et l'Amérique du Sud. Élu directeur, Raffinage – Amérique du Nord pour ExxonMobil Refining & Supply en juillet 2013, il contrôle à cette époque dix raffineries aux États-Unis et au Canada. En août 2014, il endosse la fonction de président de l'entreprise, qu'il occupe encore à ce jour.

Victor Young

Du mois de novembre 1984 au mois de mai 2001, M. Young a été président du conseil d’administration et chef de la direction de Fishery Products International Limited, société de poissons et fruits de mer surgelés.

M. Young est administrateur de la Monnaie Royale Canadienne et de McCain Foods Limited, une société privée.

Il a été fait Officier de l’Ordre du Canada en 1996 et il est actuellement président du comité consultatif sur la réduction du fardeau administratif mis sur pied par le gouvernement du Canada.

Fermer