Skip to main content
Search
Supporting Aboriginal women in leadership benefits entire communities

Supporting Indigenous women in leadership benefits entire communities

Shawna McKenzie Snache, a 34-year old Anishinaabe dynamo from the Chippewas of Rama First Nation in Ontario is exploring how community foundations across Canada can use charitable donations to invest in the future of First Nations.

Snache graduated from the 2014 Indigenous Women in Community Leadership (IWCL) program at Coady International Institute based at St. Francis Xavier University in Nova Scotia.

Now in its fifth year, the Imperial Oil Foundation/Exxon Mobil funded program hosts First Nations, Métis and Inuit women for three weeks each spring in Antigonish, NS. Then they spend three months working in their communities to put their learning into practice.

Eileen Alma, director of Coady’s International Centre for Women’s Leadership, says the program’s impact goes beyond the individual. “It’s unique because it provides opportunities for these women leaders to continue to build community-led projects long after they’ve officially graduated, and to connect meaningfully to other leaders and communities in the process.”

In Snache’s community research, she learned the Community Foundation of Orillia and Area has given out more than $550,000 to regional non-profit organizations, with one notable exception.

“My own community has never applied for a grant or project funding from this foundation,” she says. “We need to explore the power of these partnerships, and how they can benefit people in our communities. So we’re asking questions to see what might work here, and elsewhere in Canada.”

Snache’s work is already benefiting Chippewas of Rama First Nation: “There’s a willingness right here to embrace the concepts I brought back from Coady,” she says. “Together, we’re developing a vision for where we can be, and how we can embrace new opportunities.”

For more information on the Indigenous Women in Community Leadership program visit their website.

Close

Passer au contenu principal
Recherche

Programme de leadership communautaire pour les femmes autochtones

Shawna McKenzie Snache, une véritable dynamo Anishinaabe de 34 ans, de la Première Nation Chippewas of Rama, en Ontario, étudie comment les fondations communautaires à travers le Canada peuvent utiliser les dons de bienfaisance pour investir dans l'avenir des Premières Nations.

Mme Snache est diplômée du Programme de leadership communautaire pour les femmes autochtones au Coady International Institute, à l’Université St. Francis Xavier, en Nouvelle-Écosse.

Depuis maintenant cinq ans, la Fondation Pétrolière Impériale / ExxonMobil accueille des femmes issues des communautés des Premières Nations, Métis et Inuits pendant trois semaines chaque été à Antigonish, en N.-É. Ces femmes passent ensuite trois mois à travailler dans leurs communautés pour mettre en pratique leurs apprentissages.

Eileen Alma, directrice du centre international pour le leadership des femmes au Coady Institute, affirme que l'impact du programme va bien au-delà de l'individu. « Le programme est unique parce qu'il donne des occasions à ces femmes dirigeantes de continuer à réaliser des projets communautaires longtemps après avoir obtenu leur diplôme, et de tisser des liens importants avec d'autres leaders et communautés par la même occasion. »

Dans le cadre de ses recherches communautaires, Mme Snache a appris que la fondation communautaire d'Orillia et de la région environnante a octroyé plus de 55 $ à des organismes sans but lucratif régionaux, avec une exception notable.

« Ma propre communauté n'a jamais fait une demande de don ou de financement d'un projet à cette fondation », dit-elle. « Nous devons explorer le pouvoir de ces partenariats, et comment ils peuvent profiter aux personnes vivant dans nos communautés. Alors nous posons des questions pour voir ce qui pourrait fonctionner ici et ailleurs au Canada. »

Le travail de Mme Snache profite déjà à la Première Nation Chippewas of Rama :« L'on constate ici une volonté d'épouser les concepts que j'ai rapportés de Coady », déclare-t-elle. « Ensemble, nous nous évertuons à développer une vision à l'égard de la position que nous voulons occuper et comment nous pouvons saisir de nouvelles occasions. »

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le Programme de leadership communautaire pour les femmes autochtones, consultez le site.

Fermer