Skip to main content
Search

Nature Conservancy of Canada (NCC) – Developing land and environmental stewards

Each summer the Nature Conservancy of Canada (NCC) welcomes talented post-secondary students and recent graduates to its Conservation Intern program.

Interns help the NCC accomplish critical conservation and land management work and in return, get real-life, hands-on educational opportunities and a leg up in securing their environmental dream job.

“We are committed to building a natural legacy for Canada. Developing the next generation of leaders in areas such as conservation science, land management and wildlife research is a natural part of that commitment,” says Erica Thompson, national director of conservation engagement.

Beginning in 2014, Imperial pledged $1 million dollars over four years to enable the completion of critical conservation work coast to coast.

Michelle Dano’s 2014 internship was sponsored by Imperial. She believes the experience greatly contributed to her landing her dream job as the stewardship coordinator in NCC’s British Columbia Southern Interior program.

“I am able to use the skills I developed during my internship – field skills, volunteer management, conservation planning and Geographic Information Systems, to contribute to important conservation work. Conservation internships give you a leg up to do what you’ve always dreamed of,” says Dano.

Imperial and the Nature Conservancy of Canada have been partners in land conservation since 1995. In recent years, Imperial has contributed to a wide range of land securement projects across Canada and supported the care of priority conservation lands in addition to education and career development for young Canadians.

Close

Passer au contenu principal
Recherche

Formation de contrôleurs des terres et de l'environnement

Chaque été, Conservation de la Nature Canada (CNC) accueille des étudiants du niveau postsecondaire et de nouveaux diplômés talentueux à son programme de stages en conservation.

Les stagiaires aident CNC à accomplir des travaux essentiels de conservation et de gestion des terres et, en retour, ils bénéficient d'occasions d'apprentissage pratique et obtiennent par le fait même un coup de pouce pour trouver le poste de leur rêve dans le domaine de l'environnement.

« Nous sommes engagés envers l'établissement d'un legs naturel pour le Canada. » La formation de la prochaine génération de chefs de file dans des secteurs tels que la science de la conversation, la gestion des terres et la recherche sur la faune fait naturellement partie de cet engagement », explique Erica Thompson, directrice nationale responsable de l'engagement envers la conservation.

En 214, l'Impériale a promis 1 million de dollars sur une période quatre ans dans le cadre de l'exécution de travaux de conservation indispensables à travers le pays.

L'Impériale a commandité le stage de Michelle Dano en 214. Michelle estime que ce stage l'a aidé énormément à décrocher l'emploi de son rêve comme coordonnatrice de la gérance dans le cadre du programme de CNC du Sud intérieur de la Colombie-Britannique.

« Je suis en mesure d'utiliser les compétences acquises lors de mon stage – compétences sur le terrain, gestion des bénévoles, planification de la conservation et systèmes d'information géographique – pour contribuer à d'importants travaux de conservation. Les stages en conservation constituent un atout vous permettant de réaliser vos ambitions », déclare Michelle.

L'Impériale et Conservation de la Nature Canada sont des partenaires en préservation des terres depuis 1995. Au cours des dernières années, l'Impériale a contribué à un large éventail de projets de préservation des terres partout au Canada et a donné son soutien au soin des zones de conservation prioritaires en plus de soutenir l'éducation et le perfectionnement professionnel des jeunes Canadiens.

Fermer